Binary.

You are always a mere arrangement of ones and zeros away
and that is both comforting and frustrating,
because it is not enough
that it shall only take me a few moments to reach out to you,
no, I need to reach out and touch you,
feel your warmth under my skin
and listen to your voice-
clear and undisturbed by static-
when we have whispered conversations
that last long past midnight;
I need to have my face lit up
by the warm glow of the sun-
while we watch it dip into the ocean for a swim-
and kissed by your soft lips,
not by the glow of a phone-screen.
I need to grasp your arm while we walk around at night together,
not have my fingers curled around my phone
in order to feel your presence.
I need you here in flesh and bones,
I need to say your name out loud,
and not have to search for it
in a combination of ones and zeros.

You are always a mere arrangement of ones and zeros away
and that is both comforting and frustrating
for it baffles me that everything I wish to make you hear
is nothing but mere digits
and that every emotion
I have ever wished to express to you is,
in essence, the same;
all the times I’ve had tears rolling down my cheeks
and all the times my cheeks have hurt from laughing,
and all the times I’ve put them into words
to be sent to you,
they have been nothing but a combination of ones and zeros;
and maybe, that is all it is,
maybe, you and I are only ones and zeros,
and when put together correctly,
we articulate what would otherwise go unsaid,
for nobody else could be a better one to my zero.

You are always a mere arrangement of ones and zeros away
but no amount of ones and zeros
could ever fathom how much I wish you could be here.

Leave a Reply

