Mosaic.

Hi,
I’m a tile.
I like to believe that I’m a navy blue ceramic tile,
but perhaps you consider me to be another color
and that’s perfectly fine;
although, I’d prefer a shade of blue,
it’s my favourite hue;
perhaps you have another image of me,
that’s fine too.

I’m just a tile;
and I’m here to break myself into pieces
and hand them over to you
so you can add me to your mosaic
because I’d really love to be a part of it.

You know,
your mosaic,
the one you’ve made
from all the various pieces you’ve collected
of all the various tiles you’ve encountered.

They don’t fit together too well, do they?
Don’t worry, they rarely ever do;
that bright green tile you found jogging in the park
is not meant to fit perfectly
between the cracks of the faded red tile you found
sitting alone at the bar,
buzzed out of his senses on a Tuesday night
because his daughter left him alone for his birthday dinner,
to go out on a date with a flashy yellow tile.

Your mosaic will probably be hideous
if you’re fortunate enough
to meet tiles that will never compliment each other-
for they don’t exist
in the same spectrum,
the same era,
the same location,
and they’re not made
from the same materials,
the same colour schemes
or the same manufacturing unit-
and only you will ever truly appreciate
the pieces you have collected.

If your mosaic looks the least bit aesthetic, 
do yourself a favour and begin again
because you’re surrounded by tiles
of the same spectrum,
the same era,
the same location,
and they’re made
from the same materials,
the same colour schemes
the same manufacturing unit-
and all that differs is, perhaps, their batch number. 

Hi,
I’m a tile.
You might disagree
but I consider myself to be a navy blue ceramic tile,
and I’m delighted to be able to give you a piece of myself
to add to your mosaic.
You’ll probably get a small corner piece
with a smooth side or two 
and perhaps a few rough contours,
they won’t hurt you,
but you’d better be cautious nonetheless.
You might get a part of the centre,
with no smooth sides,
just sharp edges which will gnaw at you
until it’s out of your hand
and safely placed amongst the other pieces you’ve collected-
perhaps they will help smoothen it out.
Nevertheless,
I hope you like the piece you get,
I hope it finds a place in your mosaic,
I hope you’re able to appreciate it,
but most importantly
I hope you realise
that it is just a piece of the whole
not the whole.

Leave a Reply

