Shall We Dance?

Will you dance with me?
I shall teach you how.

We can use our racing pulses for music.

First, you wrap your arm around my waist
and hold me close,
firmly enough to tell me
that you do not intend to let me go,
but tenderly enough
to allow me to leave,
should I choose to.
In your other hand,
you hold mine,
and use it to signal your choice of course
by a gentle tug
meant to only indicate where you wish to go;
be soft and trust that I shall accompany you
wherever you may lead me
without being coerced into doing so.
When we move in unison,
my eyes shall never wander from yours,
and as I step backwards
with only you to guide me,
remember that I am blind
to the obstacles that lay in my path-
for you are my only focus-
and I depend on you
to meander me through them
with elegance and grace.
As we twirl around,
realise that while I ask you to hold me,
and move with me,
I shall never expect you
to support the entirety of my weight.
When our song ends
and we stop to pause and catch our breaths,
smile, and ask me to save the last dance for you.

Will you dance with me?
I shall teach you how.

One thought on “Shall We Dance?

Leave a Reply

