You.

If time were not measured by seconds but by heartbeats,
I would have known you for a lifetime,
for you make my heart burst
with overwhelming joy,
and make contentment pulse through my every vein,
while the breeze caresses my hair with soft kisses
and you elegantly articulate my thoughts
in a voice far more melodious than my own.

If happiness were not an emotion, but a human
with a soul and spirit-
it would have your smiling face and warm eyes
which pierce through my monachopsis
and shatter it with pure love,
while you hold me in a tender embrace
and gently sway to the music,
whose words we know not
but have made our own.

If you were to be translated,
you would be poetry.

Leave a Reply

