Eyes.

Your eyes were light-
Like swirls of honey-
The first time I met you.
But as time passed
I watched them grow
Into a deeper shade
Of melted caramel.
They slowly transformed
Into darker hues
Of deep, rich mahogany.
Until one day I looked
Into your eyes-
Now nearly pitch black;
And I gazed, searching
For the familiar warmth
I had come to know so well.
It was not to be found.
I did not recognize the eyes
Staring back at me anymore.
The twinkle of happiness
Had faded away,
Proof of the darkness
That you had endeared.
I had watched the light
Of their innocence
Turning more dull, each day,
As you witnessed the worst
Of agonized turmoil.
Your eyes grew darker
As you grew older;
It ached me for I knew
That your sight and vision
Were thus turning bitter
And there was nothing
I could do to prevent it.
But I hope that you learn
To look at the world
Through your dark eyes
While still believing in
The light of your heart
And the purity of your soul.

One thought on “Eyes.

Leave a Reply

