Rendezvous.

I applied a stroke of color on my lips and lined my eyes with kohl,
Donning a polka dotted skirt and dark blue blouse- I was dressed
In my favorite outfit- and going to meet my favorite person.
It had been a long while and I was nervous, my heart racing,
I wondered, would I find the familiar comfort, as always, or
Will there exist a formal, careful evasiveness to our mannerisms?
I sat myself down at our usual coffee table, by the window-
Welcomed by the view I was so accustomed to ignoring,
As I lost myself in words and actions of warm oblivion-
My anxiety soon disappeared; we resumed from where we left off:
Chapter twenty seven, page four hundred and eleven.

Leave a Reply

