Adversity.

I know you aren’t okay
Because I know you well enough
And I’ve known you long enough
To know that when adversity strikes
Your sleeves get longer and your coat wraps you more snugly,
Unlike usual, when you have it draped over your arm.
Your hands are crossed tighter across your chest,
Unlike usual, when you find it impossible to speak without animated gestures.
It seems as though you tighten up.
Your clothes and arms are suddenly ropes and nails
Helping you as you desperately try
To hold yourself together and not fall apart.

I know you aren’t okay
Because I know you well enough
And I’ve known you long enough
To know that when adversity strikes
Your pace is quicker and your steps are longer,
Unlike usual, when you walk with a bounce, high on life.
Your head is bowed and your brows are furrowed,
Unlike usual, when your head is thrown back with laughter.
Your eyes are focused, your body is alert and prepared,
Unlike usual, when they dart around with oblivious joy.
It seems as though you’re prepared to bound
Away from yourself and your world, into a haze of anonymity.
But I beg you. I beg you to let me know you,
I beg you to stay, and I beg you to let go of your disguises,
Because I know you well enough
And I’ve known you long enough
To know that when adversity strikes,
You strike it right right back and continue to strike
Until you conquer it and it can strike you no more.

Leave a Reply

